Safety standards

Canadian Machine Guarding Standards
A brief overview of Machine Guarding Safety Standards in Canada.

In Canada, each province has its own regulatory body for occupational health and safety, such as the Ministry of Labour in Ontario. There are fourteen jurisdictions - one federal, ten provincial, and three territorial - each governing the way industrial safety is implemented and enforced in their specific province or territory.

Federal legislation covers employees of the federal government and Crown agencies and corporations across Canada. In each province or territory, there is an act (typically called the Occupational Health and Safety Act, or something similar) which applies to most workplaces in that region.

Duties of Employers and Other Persons
The various Occupation Health and Safety Acts impose duties on those who have any degree of control over the workplace, the materials and equipment in the workplace, and the direction of the work force. There is a general duty on employers to take all reasonable precautions to protect the health and safety of workers. In addition, the Act and regulations set out many specific responsibilities of the employer. For example, there are duties that specifically relate to toxic substances, hazardous machinery, worker education, and personal protective equipment. There is a duty on all officers and directors of corporations to ensure that their corporations comply with the Act and regulations. The duties of workers are generally to work safely, in accordance with the Act and regulations.

Canadian Regulatory Agencies
Please find the regulatory agency in each province and territory as below:

Workplace Health and Safety, Alberta Employment and Immigration

British Columbia

SAFE Manitoba

New Brunswick

Newfoundland and Labrador
Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Department of Government Services

Northwest Territories and Nunavut
Workers' Compensation Board of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut

Nova Scotia
Occupational Health & Safety Division, Nova Scotia Labour and Workforce Development

Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Ministry of Labour

Prince Edward Island
Occupational Health and Safety Division, Workers' Compensation Board

Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail du Québec
(Occupational Health and Safety Commission of Quebec)

Occupational Health and Safety Division, Saskatchewan Ministry of Advanced Education, Employment and Labour

Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board

There is also a national Canadian Standards Association that sets safety standards which are voluntary and represent best practices. CSA standards may be enforced by law when referenced in provincial, territorial or federal legislation or regulations. These standards are designed to be complementary to the actions of government in tackling the issue of worker safety and can provide tools to help organizations comply with regulations and demonstrate due diligence.

Relevant Canadian Standards

Code for Power Press Operation: Health, Safety, and Guarding Requirements

Safeguarding of Machinery

Industrial Robots and Robot Systems - General Safety Requirements

Control of Hazardous Energy - Lockout and Other Methods

CAN/CSA-Z615-87 (R2006)
Code for Hot Forging Producers, Health and Safety Requirements

Workplace Electrical Safety

Injury Risk Assessment and Management

Work in Confined Spaces

General Workplace Ergonomics

CAN/CSA Z1000-06
Occupational Health and Safety Management

Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs

Sources for Standards
Order copies of CSA Standards from their website:

or via mail addressed to:

CSA Head Office - Mississauga
5060 Spectrum Way, Suite 100
Mississauga, Ontario

 Safety standards

 US Machine Guarding Standards more
 Canadian Machine Guarding Standards more
 European Standards more
 Specific Background Information on EN ISO 13 849-1:2006 more