CSA Standards are available from: 
CSA Head Office – Mississauga
5060 Spectrum Way, Suite 100
Mississauga, Ontario L4W 5N6 CANADA



Download a PDF of this page


Canadian Standards

In Canada, each province has its own regulatory body for occupational health and safety, such as the Ministry of Labour in Ontario. There are fourteen jurisdictions – one federal, ten provincial, and three territorial – each governing the way industrial safety is implemented and enforced in their specific province or territory. Federal legislation covers employees of the federal government and Crown agencies and corporations across Canada. In each province or territory, there is an act (typically called the Occupational Health and Safety Act, or something similar) which applies to most workplaces in that region.

Duties of Employers and Other Persons
The various Occupation Health and Safety Acts impose duties on those who have any degree of control over the workplace, the materials and equipment in the workplace, and the direction of the work force. There is a general duty on employers to take all reasonable precautions to protect the health and safety of workers. In addition, the Act and regulations set out many specific responsibilities of the employer. For example, there are duties that specifically relate to toxic substances, hazardous machinery, worker education, and personal protective equipment. There is a duty on all officers and directors of corporations to ensure that their corporations comply with the Act and regulations. The duties of workers are generally to work safely, in accordance with the Act and regulations.

There is also a national Canadian Standards Association (CSA) that sets safety standards which are voluntary and represent best practices. CSA standards may be enforced by law when referenced in provincial, territorial or federal legislation or regulations. These standards are designed to be complem-entary to the actions of government in tackling the issue of worker safety and can provide tools to help organizations comply with regulations and demonstrate due diligence.

Relevant Canadian Standards

CAN/CSA-Z142-10  Code for Power Press Operation: Health, Safety, and Guarding Requirements

CAN/CSA-Z432-16  Safeguarding of Machinery

CAN/CSA-Z434-14  Industrial Robots and Robot Systems – General Safety Requirements

CAN/CSA-Z460-13  Control of Hazardous Energy – Lockout and Other Methods

CAN/CSA-Z462-15  Workplace Electrical Safety

CAN/CSA-Z1002  Injury Risk Assessment and Management

CAN/CSA-Z1006-16  Work in Confined Spaces 

CAN/CSA-Z1004-12  General Workplace Ergonomics

CAN/CSA Z1000-06  Occupational Health and Safety Management

CAN/CSA-Z1600-14  Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs

Context Column

Canadian Regulatory Agencies

Please find the regulatory agency in each province and territory as below:

Alberta: Workplace Health and Safety, Alberta Employment and Immigration

British Columbia: WorkSafeBC

Manitoba: SAFE Manitoba

New Brunswick: WorkSafeNB

Newfoundland and Labrador: Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Department of Government Services

Northwest Territories and Nunavut: Workers’ Compensation Board of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut

Nova Scotia: Occupational Health & Safety Division, Nova Scotia Labour and Workforce Development

Ontario: Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Ministry of Labour

Prince Edward Island: Occupational Health and Safety Division, Workers’ Compensation Board

Quebec: Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail du Québec (Occupational Health and Safety Commission of Quebec)

Saskatchewan: Occupational Health and Safety Division, Saskatchewan Ministry of Advanced Education, Employment and Labour

Yukon: Yukon Workers’ Compensation Health and Safety Board